Association for Computing Machinery(ACM)

About the society

acm-logo Association for Computing Machinery, as the world’s largest computing society, strengthens the profession's collective voice through strong leadership, promotion of the highest standards, and recognition of technical excellence. ACM supports the professional growth of its members by providing opportunities for life-long learning, career development and professional networking.

Founded at the dawn of the computer age, ACM’s reach extends to every part of the globe, with more than half of its 100,000 members residing outside the U.S. Its growing membership has led to Councils in Europe, India and China, fostering networking opportunities that strengthen ties within and across countries and technical communities. Their actions enhance ACM’s ability to raise awareness of computing related important technical, educational, and social issues around the world.

Aims and objectives of the chapter:
  • Special Interest Groups Form around ACM’s Powerful, Vibrant Communities
  • Chapters: ACM's "Local Neighbourhoods"
  • ACM, Member-driven, Volunteer-led
  • ACM’s ‘Big Tent’ Philosophy Embraces Diversity
  • Supporting Tomorrow’s Problem Solvers Today
  • Giving Credit where Credit Is Due
  • Providing Tireless Advocacy of Critical Public Policy Issues
  • ACM Publications - Advancing Research, Technology and Innovation
  • Guiding Members within a Framework of Ethical Conduct

About ACM Student Chapter: GITAM ACM Student Chapter was introduced in the year 2014 by Prof.P.V.Nageswara Rao, Head of the Computer Science Department, who operated as the Faculty Sponsor and helped students in all possible ways and worked equally hard to bring this student chapter to where it is now. The Faculty Co-ordinator, Mr.A.S.Venkata Praneel, has been the backbone for the Student Chapter, driving the students towards triumph, and their combined efforts have made ACM a 500+ strong student chapter.

ACM Co-Ordinators
Name of the branch faculty advisorsEmail and contact details
Prof.P.V.Nageswara Rao
(Head of the Computer Science Department & ACM Faculty Sponsor)
GITAM Institute of Technology, GITAM, Visakhapatnam, Email:
Phone: 9440945789
Mr.A.S.Venkata Praneel
(ACM Faculty Co-Ordinator)
GITAM Institute of Technology, GITAM, Visakhapatnam, Email:
Phone: 9490348204
S.noName of the studentDesignation
2.G.AkhilVice President
3.Santosh KaluvaSecretary
4.Sipra SarangiJoint-Secretary
6.T. Sai Sampath           Treasurer
7.Saranyu A V HMembership Chair
8.N.  Hara GopalAdministrator
9.Akhil ManemAdministrator
10.K.A.Akshay            Event Manager
11.Vinay W.Event Manager
12.Veda Sruthi         Content Lead
13.Sanoli Dusa         Content Lead
14.R. Sai Bhargav            Web Designer
15.K. Vinay Web Master
16.Ashmita DatlaP.R.Lead
17.Seshu V.P.R.Lead
18.Manaswini C.        P.R.Lead
19. PavanClub Managers
20.SindhushaClub Managers
21.R. SucharithaProduction Designer